Going through and moderating our comments is a normal thing but recently we noticed something very unusual.
If you keep up with tech news you may remember sometime ago some ex employees of Google formed to start a new search engine to compete with Google called Cuil (pronounced “cool”). After some bad press a couple months following launch we haven’t heard much about them since. So we were moderating some of our comments the other day and stumbled upon 2 different ip address linking 4 times the term “new search engine” on our site going to “http://www.cuil.com/.” From what it looks to me is they hired someone to optimize for the term “new search engine.”
Screenshot below.
Why would they want to optimize for this you ask?
If you go to Google and search, “new search engine” what appeared before (and one article still remains in the #2 spot) was multiple blogs and articles that criticized and was pretty negative towards the new search engine.
So are the ex Googlers of cuil.com using their old employer to leverage the public image of their new site?
What do you think? Comment below.
Update: Cuil is hitting rock bottom


Adam said:
Is it me, or did they not even use the right syntax for the links?
They probably employed the services of a freelancer from one of those freelance sites to ‘optimise’ (spam) their website address.
Jonathan Dingman said:
Often, spammers are used to target forums, which, in this case, would be int he right syntax.
I highly doubt it was actually cuil.com’s owners spamming you.
Every time you get an email from bill@microsoft.com telling you that you have a $1 million prize waiting, do you actually think it’s Bill Gates emailing you? No.
It’s likely someone trying to make it appear like cuil.com is actually spamming, though in reality, it’s not actually them.
bpdsbot said:
@jonathan dingman
We are pretty sure Cuil’s not spamming our site but it is plausible they hired a company to do some massive link building.